The Basics of Chakra Healing with Crystals

The Basics of Chakra Healing with Crystals


chakra crystals


What are chakras?

In Sanskrit, the word 'chakra' means 'disk' or 'wheel' and refers to the energy centres in your body where these wheels or disks of spinning energy each correspond to certain nerve bundles and major organs.

To function at their best, your chakras need to stay open, or balanced. If they get blocked, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms related to a particular chakra.

There are seven main chakras that run along your spine. They start at the root, or base, of your spine and extend to the crown of your head. These are:

Root chakra

The root chakra, or Muladhara, is located at the base of your spine. It provides you with a base or foundation for life, and it helps you feel grounded and able to withstand challenges. Your root chakra is responsible for your sense of security and stability.

Sacral chakra

The sacral chakra, or Svadhisthana, is located just below your belly button. This chakra is responsible for your sexual and creative energy. It’s also linked to how you relate to your emotions as well as the emotions of others.

Solar plexus chakra

The solar plexus chakra, or Manipura, is located in your stomach area. It’s responsible for confidence and self-esteem, as well as helping you feel in control of your life.

Heart chakra

The heart chakra, or Anahata, is located near your heart, in the centre of your chest. It comes as no surprise that the heart chakra is all about our ability to love and show compassion.

Throat chakra

The throat chakra, or Vishuddha, is located in your throat. This chakra has to do with our ability to communicate verbally.

Third eye chakra

The third eye chakra, or Ajna, is located between your eyes. You can attribute this chakra to a strong gut instinct. That’s because the third eye is responsible for intuition. It’s also linked to imagination.

Crown chakra

The crown chakra, or Sahasrara, is located at the top of your head. Your Sahasrara represents your spiritual connection to yourself, others, and the universe. It also plays a role in your life’s purpose.


What are chakra stones?

Chakra stones are the natural gemstones or crystals that can help balance a certain chakra, which are usually of a specific colour that corresponds to that chakra. However, you do not need to stick to stones of that colour, it is more important that you choose a stone whose healing power is aligned to the chakra you intend to work on. Some suggestions are:

  • Root chakra - use a black or red, grounding stone such as black onyx or red jasper.
  • Sacral chakra - use an orange, pleasure inducing stone such as carnelian or tiger eye.
  • Solar plexus chakra - use a yellow, confidence boosting stone such as citrine or calcite.
  • Heart chakra - use a pink or green, loving and positive stone such as rose quartz or aventurine.
  • Throat chakra - use a blue or turquoise, communication improving stone such as lapis lazuli or amazonite.
  • Third eye chakra - use an indigo or dark blue, intuition intensifying stone such as sodalite or labradorite.
  • Crown chakra - use a clear or violet, higher power connecting stone such as clear quartz or amethyst.


The benefits of using chakra stones

Chakra stones and crystals can be placed on your body to purify and balance the chakras, releasing all the negativity and resulting to emotional release. They can heal the body and release the life force energy. They can also transform the negative energies into positive energies thus leading to good health.


How to use chakra stones

Place your chosen stone/s onto the corresponding chakra area/s on your body, and set your specific intention for healing that chakra. Pay attention to the energy of the stone and visualise its colour and energy balancing your chakra. Do what feels right to you, for example you can focus on just one chakra or move through several chakras, re-focusing your intention as you go. The trick is just to be as mindful as possible.

After you have finished setting your intentions, rest for a while and allow your chakras to be cleared and balanced by the stones.


How to check your chakra states with a pendulum

If you just feel a little 'out of sorts' and are not sure exactly which chakras need work, the best way to begin sensing the states of the chakras is to use a pendulum. A pendulum acts as an amplifier for the energy flow produced by each chakra. Observing how this energy manifests in the pendulum's swing can give you a great deal of information about your chakras.

You can use a pendulum on your or someone else's body, or with printed symbols or a chakra chart. Suspend the pendulum above the body or symbol and note its movement:

  • Clockwise - chakra is open
  • Counter clockwise - chakra is closed
  • Elliptical swing - right or left side imbalance due to an over use of masculine or feminine energy
  • Erratic - indicates a spiritual unrest or upheaval
  • No movement - there is a blockage or you are holding the pendulum in the incorrect place


So now that you are armed with the basics of how chakras work and how to improve their states using crystals, you are ready to start practicing yourself. We have some great starter sets for you to get going with, such as this one, this one and this one. Remember to relax and go with your gut, and above all, enjoy the process!

Back to blog